Why I love to be up at 5:00 in the morning on weekends

On weekends, I love the early part of the day between 5 a.m. and maybe 8 a.m. or so.  Before we humans start in on our necessary but noisy activities.    It’s quiet out here where we live.  The main road is walking distance to us and we can hear the car noises, but yet, it can still be very quiet and peaceful here.  I can hear the birds chirping and singing and the squirrels with their sort of chattering that they do.  Most of the time, I am up at 5 a.m. on weekends because after more than 30 years of working and getting up early, my body just won’t let me sleep much later.  When I am awake at 5 on the weekends, I love to listen to the transition sounds, the start of the birds chirping and the tail end of the crickets and other night sounds.  There are certain things I love to do at this time of day such as baking fresh biscuits or cinnamon rolls. Or maybe just make a cup of tea and sit near a window to watch the sunrise and the animals start their day.  Sometimes that early part of the day is my only chance to read or work on a crochet project.   These are the things I wouldn’t do if I slept later.  I would scarcely notice the sunrise or animals because I would be into my day and I’d be rushing to get laundry started and while the washer was running I’d be straightening the house and trying to do a thousand things at once.  When I sleep later, usually after being up later the night before, I wake up in “late” mode and feel as if I need to dive right into housework and the “have to dos.”  When I get up early, it seems to set the tone for the rest of the day. I get all the housework done, but I don’t feel as though I’m in “late” mode and I’m more relaxed as I work through my “to do” list.  At the end of the day, I love to sit on the porch swing and watch the transition from day to night.  As it gets dark, I hear the cheerful chirping give way to the crickets and other night noises and soon my day will be done, too.

Leave a Reply

