Grandma’s Journal, again

Well, once again I am back after a long time between posts.  It’s not that I don’t have plenty to say–it’s just that I struggle to find time to say it!  Or at least find time to keep up with posting to this site.  I keep a journal, but I just don’t always post to my site.

We have had a very busy year, with some personal situations and changes, including a move.  All that extra “stuff” took away some computer time.

I am still watching our two adorable grandchildren, who are 4 and 2  1/2, on a full-time basis.  I enjoy watching them grow and change almost daily.  I have always loved doing little art/craft projects with them and teaching them their letters, colors, numbers, alphabet, etc.  I like doing simple science projects and just love introducing them to as many learning experiences as I can.  We read books, sing, use a flannel board to tell stories and we even add in some simple Yoga stretches.

We get outside as often as possible and they love to swing and play in the sand box.    One of my favorite things to do is to take them outside after it has rained.  We put on rain boots, and jackets, if needed, and go out in search of puddles to jump and splash in.  And we seem to do our best bug discovering after or during the rain.  I always have to fake my excitement over bugs, though.  I am much better looking at flowers, plants and trees!

I have a double wagon and once in  a while they get in that and really enjoy a nice ride and I enjoy a nice walk.  There is a horse farm down the street and they love to ride down to see if the horses are outside.  They are friendly horses, they walk right up to the fence when they see us.

I recently introduced them to some pre-school work books and they like those.  They each have their own books and I am able to work with them individually, so they can work at their own pace.

And that is all for Grandma’s Journal for now.

 

Leave a Reply

