Enjoy the Moment

Everyone I know says it–how fast time seems to be flying by.  It doesn’t matter if the person I am talking to is close to my age, or a little older or  if they are young, in their forties, thirties or even in their twenties.  It seems that unless you are in your teens or younger, time insists on marching faster and faster.

So, today is our son’s thirtieth birthday.  It really doesn’t seem possible that 30 years have gone by already.  I was talking to our daughter just yesterday about how fast the grandchildren are growing.  We find it hard to believe that the oldest is already 4, and one day we will be shocked that she is starting kindergarten.

And it reminded me of when our daughter went to kindergarten and a few years later, our son.  I told her that most people I know get emotional when their oldest hits the milestone moments.  I never really got emotional over either one of our kids hitting the milestone moments.  But those moments always struck me more when our youngest got to that particular milestone because I realized how fast time has gone by.

I always felt proud as our kids hit milestones.  Instead of crying I was always more surprised or shocked  that the time had gone by so fast.  I remember smiling as I watched our little girl get on that kindergarten bus for the first time.  And when  I registered our son for kindergarten, I remember how mad he was when I told him he was all set for kindergarten, but had to wait until the fall. He wanted to start right then, that day!

When our kids were little, I always enjoyed every moment I could.  I cherished the special times, the fun times, and even the ordinary times.  I took tons of pictures and love to reflect back and enjoy the memories. But I also always knew they would grow up.  That’s what kids do.  Whenever someone asks me if I wish our kids were little again, I always say no.  I do not need to go back.  I enjoyed every moment, every age, and always look forward to the future and want to be enjoy the “now” moments.

I love seeing our kids as adults and seeing and hearing about their lives now.  It makes me proud to say I am their mom and to see the awesome adults they have become.

So, although I still feel the 30 years have gone by quickly, I will enjoy the moment and wish our son a fantastic birthday!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Enjoy the Moment

Leave a Reply

